University of Oulu

Peräntie, J., Hagberg, J., Uusimäki, A., Jantunen, H. (2009) Field-induced thermal response and irreversible phase transition enthalpy change in Pb(Mg1/3Nb2/3)O3–PbTiO3. Applied Physics Letters, 94 (10), 102903. doi:10.1063/1.3098067

Field-induced thermal response and irreversible phase transition enthalpy change in Pb(Mg₁/₃Nb₂/₃)O₃–PbTiO₃

Saved in:
Author: Peräntie, J.1; Hagberg, J.1; Uusimäki, A.1;
Organizations: 1Microelectronics and Materials Physics Laboratories and EMPART Research Group of Infotech Oulu, University of Oulu, P.O. Box 4500, FIN-90014 Oulu, Finland
Format: article
Version: published version
Access: open
Online Access: PDF Full Text (PDF, 0.3 MB)
Persistent link:
Language: English
Published: American Institute of Physics, 2009
Publish Date: 2017-08-17


In order to determine the enthalpy change in an irreversible field-induced phase transition, the thermal response to an electric field in 0.87Pb(Mg₁/₃Nb₂/₃)O₃-0.13PbTiO₃ was measured and dismantled into characteristic dielectric hysteresis, reversible electrocaloric, and irreversible phase transition responses. Below the depolarization temperature Tdp = 18 °C, the phase transition enthalpy change increases rapidly to a maximum value of |ΔH| = 77 J / kg. Above Tdp, the field-induced thermal response shows a reversible nature with an increased electrocaloric effect. In addition to earlier enthalpy data presented for temperature-induced transitions, this letter provides information on the enthalpy change in a field-induced phase transition of relaxor ferroelectrics.

see all

Series: Applied physics letters
ISSN: 0003-6951
ISSN-E: 1077-3118
ISSN-L: 0003-6951
Volume: 94
Issue: 10
Article number: 102903
DOI: 10.1063/1.3098067
Type of Publication: A1 Journal article – refereed
Field of Science: 114 Physical sciences
216 Materials engineering
Funding: The author J.P. acknowledges the Graduate School in Electronics, Telecommunications and Automation (GETA), the Jenny and Antti Wihuri Foundation, the Tauno Tönning foundation, and the Riitta and Jorma J. Takanen foundation for financial support of the work.
Copyright information: © 2009 American Institute of Physics. Published in this repository with the kind permission of the publisher.