University of Oulu

Hautala, L., Jänkälä, K., Löytynoja, T., Mikkelä, M., Prisle, N., Tchaplyguine, M., Huttula, M. (2017) Experimental observation of structural phase transition in CsBr clusters. Physical Review B, 95 (4), 045402. doi:10.1103/PhysRevB.95.045402

Experimental observation of structural phase transition in CsBr clusters

Saved in:
Author: Hautala, L.1; Jänkälä, K.1; Löytynoja, T.1;
Organizations: 1Nano and Molecular Systems research unit, University of Oulu, P.O. Box 3000, 90014 University of Oulu, Finland
2MAX IV Laboratory, Lund University, Box 118, 22100 Lund, Sweden
Format: article
Version: published version
Access: open
Online Access: PDF Full Text (PDF, 0.9 MB)
Persistent link:
Language: English
Published: American Physical Society, 2017
Publish Date: 2018-03-28


Formation and growth of CsBr clusters embedded in unsupported Ar clusters was studied using synchrotron radiation photoelectron spectroscopy. The development of the core-level electronic structure for cluster sizes between a few and a few hundred atoms contained information about the local coordination of the constituent particles. The experimental results indicate that a gradual structural phase transition from NaCl structure to CsCl structure for CsBr clusters takes place at around 160 atoms per cluster.

see all

Series: Physical review. B
ISSN: 2469-9950
ISSN-E: 2469-9969
ISSN-L: 2469-9950
Volume: 95
Issue: 4
Article number: 045402
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.95.045402
Type of Publication: A1 Journal article – refereed
Field of Science: 113 Computer and information sciences
Funding: EXACTUS doctoral program (Oulun yliopisto) and Jenny ja Antti Wihurin Rahasto are gratefully acknowledged by L.H. for their support. The authors would like to acknowledge the financial support from the Suomen Akatemia. The research leading to these results has received funding from the European Community’s Seventh Framework Programme (FP7/2007-2013) CALIPSO under Grant Agreement No. 312284. T.L. acknowledges Vilho, Yrjö, and Kalle Väisälä foundation for their financial support.
Copyright information: © 2017 American Physical Society.